top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRusty

Spring Record Show 2023

Spring is here and once again it's the record show! Let's get right to it as there really isn't anything to talk about my life this time around! Same old!


I woke up amazingly early today, so I decided to pay $5 for early 8AM access. Luckily I did, as they had one seller with sealed CDs for mostly $4 each or 6 for $20 (or $3.33 each). The amazing thing about this is that the guy had all these rare imports and special store releases and other stuffs. And the selection was all over, from rare band releases to stuff way more common like Justin Bieber. The band releases I picked up were mostly the later issue stuff from the 2000s to mid 2010s that didn't get high print runs because by then people stopped buying CDs, especially from old timers who were popular from the 70s and 80s.


Anyway, I will post a general image of them all down below. I think 95% of them are just for reselling, but I picked up ones that I saw where $15 or more on ebay. I probably should have scanned in all the CDs there but I picked up the ones I felt were rarer based on my experiences as it would take too long to check them all up. The guy said he'll be having a garage sale next weekend and more of these CDs, but he's all the way near Syracuse and I'm like 50/50 if I want to travel all that way. It's probably worth it but it's also the first big garage sale weekend too. I'll probably not go just because I have a few church sales on Thursday, I know of at least one neighborhood sale on Friday and if history is the same, it'll be worth revisiting it on Saturday too. I'm betting there will be other sales too. It's not a huge deal if I don't go honestly as I have so much inventory already. I think I'll be too exhausted by Saturday to take an hour or so trip for just CDs.


Click on the image to see the names better. Maybe about 8 of them I want for myself. Depends on their value. Icona Pop I bought for me, but I think I may have it already. OOPS! The two Kylie I sorta want but I need to listen to them as she's sorta iffy with her new stuff. The two Asia is the same way. Howard Jones "Best" has a live CD, which is tempting if it's his good stuff. His early stuff is amazing, his stuff after that is pure lounge singer Vegas type crap. Monkees I sorta want for myself. Tull's TAAB2 I may keep but I need to listen before getting as I didn't care for TAAB1 that much (VERY VERY OVERRATED). Toto Live is sorta interesting. Nightwish I certainly bought for myself. Honestly most of what I bought were titles I wouldn't mind keeping but don't really care if I don't.


So I had spent $140 at this guys booth and I had spent most of my early admission here. Worth it I think on the resale value! Eventually I moved around and I found a lot of new sellers mixed in with the same old guys. It's nice to see new people though. I didn't really get a ton for myself and I've been cutting back on getting LPs. I'll mention the stuff I got but not in the order I bought them as I normally do this as it really doesn't matter I guess and I don't really want to put the effort into something that is meaningless. LOL It'll be pulling stuff out of the bags and commenting about them.

The Four Seasons - The Genuine Imitation Life Gazette. This was a toss in for free with some pricy CDs that I bought which I'll mention later on. I was REALLY happy to get this as it has the insert newspaper, which I believe is rather hard to find. Actually the LP is rather hard to find as it's one of those hated LPs in general. Basically from what I understand, the producer went crazy over the Beach Boys - "Animal Sounds" and convinced the Four Seasons to do something similar to it. The thing is that the Four Season fans were not into that sound at all and they detested this effort. The psychedelic crowd would never even consider to listen to the Four Seasons. They would have been better off releasing this under the producer's name or something so it is what it is.


Anyway, my story to this is that I found a ratty copy of it probably 10-15 years ago for a couple dollars at a local garage sale. I was iffy about it, but when I got it home, I was blown away. It's rather proggy (for the late 60s) and a sharper, more coherent album than Animal Sounds. It's grossly underrated! I've been on a quest for an upgrade for a while.


On a sad note, I've played a song from this LP at my dying mother's side as a tribute to her. She was unconscious and I know would have hated it, but there is one song on there that is perfect for how I felt about her. Here it is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iwrbN-dkiu8 I am crying even today hearing it. T_T;;;;;; Moving on....




Ian Lloyd & Stories – Traveling Underground. Another free-bee. I tried a fast sample of it on Youtube and it seems good. I know both the Stories and Ian Lloyd, but I think is this my first time trying them out. I'm sure I'll like it.




Various – "Disco Dance '82" Mix. A $1 mystery buy! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i36GnHWPAQk I think it's this here. The recording in the video is at the wrong speed, but still it's certainly something I'm glad to get. Here are the tracks, seems to be the same on both sides. Says '82 mix, but I think a few of these are actually later than that...either way, a good pick up!


A1 I-Level– Give Me

A2 Freddie James– Don't Turn Your Back On Love

A3 Aurra– Checking You Out

A4 Raw Silk– Do It To The Music

A5 Electric Mind– Summing Up

A6 Nancy Martinez– Can't Believe

A7 Skyy– Let's Celebrate

A8 Patrice Rushen– Forget Me Nots

A9 Tomorrow's Edition– U Turn Me On

A10 Imagination– Burnin' Up

A11 The Whispers– In The Raw

A12 Peech Boys– Don't Make Me Wait

A13 Time Bandits– Live It Up

A14 Yazoo– Situation

A15 Sinnamon– Thanks To You

A16 The Human League– Don't You Want Me

A17 B.B. & Band– All Night Long

A18 Thompson Twins– In The Name Of Love

A19 Chas Jankel– 109

A20 The Jonzun Crew– Pac Jam (Look Out For The OVC)

A21 Sharon Redd– Beat The Street

A22 Gino Soccio– It's Alright

A23 Jimmy Ross– Fall Into A Trance

A24 Goldie Alexander– Show You My Love

A25 The Gap Band– Early In The Morning

A26 Capricorn (3)– I Need Love

A27 Modern Romance– Can You Move

A28 Patrick Cowley– Lift-Off

A29 Planet Control*– Play At Your Own Risk

A30 Klein & M.B.O.– Dirty Talk

A31 Yazoo– Don't Go

A32 The Clash– Rock The Casbah

A33 Sylvester– Do Ya Wanna Funk

A34 Trio– Da Da Da (I Don't Love You You Don't Love Me Aha Aha Aha)





Various – The Best Of Eurobeat - Eurobeat Is Energy. Same place as the $1. A little story, the guy selling these at his booth was f*cking annoying. I was looking up another LP that I was questionable about and he was all pushy and saying buy it, it's only $1 and crap crap. I was thinking to myself, shut the hell up. Saying that crap makes me want to drop everything and leave his booth. But I wanted these two remix albums, so I suffered though his bullying. ANYWAY, Eurobeat = Good! I rarely see it at the record shows. I know most the the music here, but what sold me was a 6:55 mix of Paul Lekakis's Boom Boom (Let's Go Back to My Room). I don't remember it being that long, so I am curious if it's a remix, extended or what. Man 2 Man's Male Stripper is a mix that I don't think I own as well. Either way, worth a dollar!


I'm opening my record bag now to see more of the LPs that I got. LOL I'm proud of my record bag which I bought last year sometime, as it looks like a turntable! I don't think anyone had noticed it, but whatever, I felt so nerdy cool! That reminds me, so many stinky people at the show today. EW!


OK, I got a small stack of records for $2 each from some guy that knew me but I don't remember him at all. LOL! I feel that I have Prosopagnosia as I cannot remember people at all. My own father was on his death bed at the nursing him and I mistook his roommate for him... T_T; I cannot recognize people if they are outside of their element. More so if it's been years since I've seen them. I recognize stuff like clothing they normally wear and how they walk to cope. Anyway, this guy had a LOT of nice obscure stuff but I held back just getting the stuff I really wanted rather than buying a ton. Amazingly I walked by a little later and someone bought half a tote from him! I guess his stuff was really good but honestly I think some reseller got them. LOL! It's why I cannot find LPs in the wild as resellers are snapping anything up it seems that isn't total crap like Lawrence Welk.




Visage – Visage. This is a mini-LP and I may or may not have it. I'm pretty sure I have all these mixes on CD, as I bought the remastered Albums recently for most of Visage catalogue but I do love the songs on his one enough to rebuy it. For $2 who cares. It's like Ultravox, Heaven 17 or OMD stuff, I'll keep rebuying it if I don't think I'll have it.


Michal Urbaniak – Fusion III. I've been after this LP for a while but honestly I don't know why. I think it's because I saw his name as related to Weather Report. I seem to remember it's also one that other sellers put a hefty price on it, even though no one wants it. I think it's part is that the LP cover hooked me in as well. Listening to it, it's good Jazz Fusion. A good pick up!



Steve Hackett – Voyage Of The Acolyte. I bought this because I couldn't recall if I have it or not. For $2 I didn't care as he's sorta harder to get. Hackett is hit or miss too, but it's basically a "you're not a prog fan if you don't have this in your collection" type thing. Like the entire catalog of 70s Pink Floyd or the 70s Keith Emerson solo stuff, you have to own a copy even if you like it or don't. I'm not entirely sure if this is the album of his that I actually or not. LOL! I think I had it on CD but sold it off.


Max Webster – Universal Juveniles. I don't know why Max Webster (AKA Kim Mitchell's Band) doesn't get much love. Their stuff is good. But then again, they are just part of a few dozen 70s Canada bands that don't really get much love and that's a shame! One track has Rush (a Canadian group that gets far too much love) on it, which I don't think people know about. I'll basically will pick up anything from this era by Canadian bands if I can find it cheap as it's almost all sounding alike and is enjoyable enough to me.




Trax – Dancing In The Street. I tested this on my phone before buying and it has this cheesiest cover of Dancing in the Street that I loved. Very disco, I'm sure the rest is more of the same. Worth $2!




707 – The Second Album. Good AOR stuff from 1981. I cannot remember why I know them. Probably had something I REALLY liked from them off of another LP. Or I already have their MP3 in my collection.

Various – Doomsday News. A heavy metal compilation LP I bought to resell. Basically to offset what I had spent on the other LPs (seems that this will sell easily for $15 on ebay). I do like some of Helloween and the track here by them is actually a good one. Don't really know the rest of the bands though. I thought Voivod was an alt rock band.


A1 Scanner (3)– Galactos 3:42

A2 Rage (6)– Before The Storm 4:48

A3 Deathrow– Scatterred By The Wind 5:07

A4 Coroner– Arrogance In Uniform 4:00

A5 Tankard– Total Addiction 3:24

B1 Sabbat (2)– Hosanna In Excelsis 4:00

B2 Helloween– I'm Alive 3:25

B3 Vendetta (4)– And The Brave Man Fails 4:06

B4 Celtic Frost– Mesmerized 3:24

B5 Kreator– After The Attack 3:42

B6 Voïvod– Cockroaches 3:45



Rough Diamond – Rough Diamond. Tested before I bought. Seems rather good. I see it's classified as Prog Rock. It's all over the place and a little odd for prog but it can be called that. I need to properly listen to it later.


Stray Cats – (She's) Sexy + 17. Bought this mostly for the cover. I plan to hang it up in my bathroom. Looks to be a pre-release 12" single for the LP. Has a track which isn't on that LP, but I don't remember it being a track that I care about.



Sue Saad And The Next – Sue Saad And The Next. I've wanted this one for a while. It's one of those cheezy rocker girl LPs which sounds so adorably lame now days. I guess they were trying to be the next Blondie, Pat Benatar or something. Luckily I love this sound!



The first two Suzi Quarto LPs. WOW, I've been collecting LPs since 1992 or so and I've seen countless LPs and this is the first freaking time I've actually seen these in the wild! These are classic LPs that people hoard. If they do get resold, the prices are crazy high! I never look at the LPs if they are over a couple bucks as I'm not that sort of collector. I care about very little to pay a lot for anything. I'm not even sure what she sounds like as I never bothered to listen to her stuff, but I knew it was a must pick up at only $2 each. Listing to Glycerine Queen and I think that's her big hit. Good stuff!


That's it for the LPs! Also in the bag was 4 DVD sets of the Three Stooges. 5, 6. 7 and 8. I've been after these for a while as I've constantly seen 1, 2 and 3. I kept buying doubles as I kept forgetting what I actually needed. I just bought #4 last week at the thrift store and I sold a sealed new #3 recently but I know I saw the rest in my collection. It's been my goal to give them all a proper watch, as I don't know how I really feel about them. I remember liking them as a child, but would I as an adult? Who knows!


Onto the CDs!


Devil Doll's Collection. These (and one other I'll mention below) I paid a whole $55 dollars for. OW! But I took the guy for a ride on them as they are worth maybe double or triple that. The story with these is that a dealer had all these cool CDs (probably 300) but I didn't know most of the bands. Yet I REALLY REALLY wanted them all as most seemed like stuff I would have liked a lot! I did see some groups like Porcupine Tree and Nightwish so his stuff was probably symphonic neo prog at best. Probably most of it was Symphonic Metal which I like if they are not screaming like idiots though it all. At worse, thrash or hardcore. I had no clue and it all looked so indy with covers that could be prog or whatever.


So what stuck out the most to me was "Devil Doll." I don't know why, I just liked the name and thought I would at least buy one group out of all those CDs so it felt like I got at least something to progress my interest into this sort of music. I only know maybe 5 or so bands in the symphonic metal category. I tried some DD on Youtube and they were amazing! Like the slow bits of Marillion, carny music, opera music, a guy that sounds like Lene Lovich (the creepy way she "sings" her music) and just WOW! It's neo-prog that I actually like.


Debating on to sell them or not. Then again, $12.50 each for rare CDs isn't bad if you actually adore them but then again the cover arts are nothing to write home about either. Honestly I play MP3s all the time and the physical stuff is just pleasing to me to see, like I accomplished something for collecting something rare/good. I don't play most of it, so it's silly to hoard it. But then again, a lot of it is investment and worth $$$. What's the sense of having tons of money in the bank just sitting around? Buy underpriced stuff that will go up in value instead is smarter! I think that was my big rant last fall actually.



Nightwish – Wishmaster. This was the CD I spent $5 on with those Devil Dolls. Sorta high as Nightwish is on the more common side of Symphonic Metal but I'm tired of never seeing any Nightwish and I want to collect them all, as I love Dark Passion Play SOOOOO Much! I've played that entire album at least 50 times! Nightwish though I've had a bad CD of, so I wasn't sure if this was a "good" or "bad" one. Testing a track now and it seems to be on the good side!


Various – The Moon Revisited. Basically a Pink Floyd covers CD by Magna Carta bands. Magna Carta is mostly a prog record label and if you see any release from them, it's probably worth getting for a dollar if you are a prog fan. This one was scuffed rather badly, but I'll run it though my CD buffer and make it acceptable. I guess that's why it was a dollar after all. There is only one group I know on this CD and it's Magellan, and I think that's because I have one or two of their CDs. They are doing Money, which luckily is the track I know the most from the Wall. Time would be the other but someone named Shadow Gallery is doing that.


Guilty Gear 2: Overture - I did get one video game this time. $5. The guy that sold me this is a crazy whack job and I don't care for him at all! He has no idea of price and everything tends to be insanely high. I was wanting a complete Mr Ed DVD set from him, but it was missing two DVDs. I was hoping to get it for $10 but he wanted $35. that's the price online for them complete! >.<


So on this game, I half expected it to be $25 or so which is about right for ebay pricing. It's for my collection but not a game I really want very much either. It seems it's not a fighter as I thought, but a melee action game. I never knew they had one for GG. Honestly I'll probably never play it, it's a hoard for value type thing. Video games are VERY good for that, if you get the rarer ones that not many people bought back in the day.



Laura Branigan – Laura Branigan. A $1 CD. I honestly don't remember seeing this one in the wild ever. I need to organize my CD collection, as I think I need only 1 more out of the 6 LB albums. LB is just common 80s girl pop music, but I do like her. This one seems to have a much more mature voice, so I think she's probably in her late 20s to 30s here.

Seduction – Nothing Matters Without Love. I just couldn't remember if I own this or not. I swore that I had but I may be thinking of another band like Exposé. They all sorta look the same from this time period. For a $1 who cares, right? (scoffs) I won't waste $1 on crap that I don't know, but I will on crap that I remember liking. And I've been in a mood for this sort of music (freestyle) lately. I think I probably have a 12" remix CD with a very similar cover.


Jody Watley – You Wanna Dance With Me? I've NEVER seen this CD before and that amazes me. I checked and it's a remix CD of her popular songs up to that date. SWEET! But I do need the two albums that were out prior to this as well. LOL! I think they are a little rare around here as we are a little too "white" for Jody. Worth a dollar for sure!


And that's it! Another enjoyable day! See ya in the fall, unless I get some amazing CD/record collection to talk about in the meantime. I have been getting random stuff all along of course but nothing to make a long article about. It's more funner to brag about a CD show haul than random pickups.


TTFN!

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page